Shortlists by male performance


Male performers in alphabetical order

Richard Addison: 1 nomination

2006–07 Man of the Moment, Pitlochry Festival Theatre, Nominated


Fraser Ayres: 1 nomination

2003–04 The People Next Door, Traverse Theatre Company, Nominated


John Bett: 2 nominations

2003–04 Scenes From an Execution, Dundee Rep Theatre, Won

2009–10 The Government Inspector, Communicado, Nominated



David Birrell: 1 nomination

2010–11 Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street, Dundee Rep Theatre, Won

Right: David Birell as Sweeney Todd with Ann Louise Ross as Mrs Lovett at Dundee Rep Pic: Douglas McBride


Stuart Bowman: 1 nomination

2011–12 Watching the Detective, A Play, a Pie and a Pint, Nominated


Liam Brennan: 3 nominations

2004–05 Othello, Royal Lyceum Theatre, Nominated

2005–06 Tales from Hollywood, Perth Theatre, Won

2006–07 Tom Fool, Citizens Theatre Company, Nominated


Dugald Bruce-Lockhart: 1 nomination

2005–06 Goethe's Faust Parts One & Two, Royal Lyceum Theatre, Nominated


Sean Campion:1 nomination

2007–08 Carthage Must Be Destroyed, Traverse Theatre Company, Nominated


Andy Clark: 2 nominations

2005–06 The Devil's Larder, Grid Iron, Nominated

2008–09 The Ching Room, A Play, a Pie and a Pint, Nominated


Stephen Clyde: 1 nomination

2011–12 A Midsummer Night's Dream, Bard in the Botanics, Won


Tony Cownie: 1 nomination

2004–05 A Madman Sings to the Moon, Royal Lyceum Theatre, Nominated


Alan Cumming: 1 nomination

2012–13, Macbeth, National Theatre of Scotland, Won


Tam Dean Burn: 1 nomination

2007–08 Venus as a Boy, National Theatre of Scotland, Nominated


Brian Ferguson: 1 nomination

2009–10 The Dark Things, Traverse Theatre Company, Nominated


Alex Ferns: 1 nomination

2010–11 The Hard Man, Scottish Theatres Consortium, Nominated



Keith Fleming: 1 nomination

2007–08 Peer Gynt, National Theatre of Scotland, Won

Right: Keith Fleming in Peer Gynt. Photo: Douglas McBride


Peter Forbes: 1 nomination

2010–11 Educating Agnes, Royal Lyceum Theatre, Nominated


Michael Glenn Murphy: 1 nomination

2007–08 Shining City, Rapture Theatre, Nominated


Sandy Grierson: 1 nomination

2006–07 Fergus Lamont, Communicado, Won


Paul Jesson: 1 nomination

2003–04 Death of a Salesman, Royal Lyceum Theatre, Nominated


John Kazek: 1 nomination

2003–04 Pleasure and Pain, Citizens Theatre Company, Won


Stephen Kennedy: 1 nomination

2011–12 Someone Who'll Watch Over Me, Perth Theatre, Nominated


Dougal Lee: 1 nomination

2003–04 Man and Superman, Pitlochry Festival Theatre, Nominated


Kevin Lennon: 1 nomination

2009–10 The Elephant Man, Dundee Rep Theatre, Won


Billy Mack: 1 nomination

2008–09 The Sound of My Voice, Citizens Theatre Company, Nominated


Stuart McQuarrie: 1 nomination

2006–07 Realism, National Theatre of Scotland, Nominated



Gerry Mulgrew: 1 nomination

2007–08 Peer Gynt, National Theatre of Scotland, Won

Right: Gerry Mulgrew in Peer Gynt by Dundee Rep and the NTS. Photo: Douglas McBride


Tommy Mullins: 1 nomination

2005–06 Stacy. Hush Productions, Nominated


Gerard Murphy: 1 nomination

2012–13, Krapp's Last Tape, Citizens Theatre Company, Nominated


Michael Nardone: 1 nomination

2011–12 Men Should Weep, National Theatre of Scotland, Nominated


Grant O'Rourke: 1 nomination

2012–13, The Agony and the Ecstasy of Steve Jobs, The Gilded Balloon, Nominated


Iain Robertson: 1 nomination

2012–13, Takin' Over the Asylum, Citizens Theatre Company, Nominated


Billy Seymour: 1 nomination

2008–09 Pornography, Traverse Theatre Company, Nominated


Nabil Shaban: 1 nomination

2004–05 Threepenny Opera, Theatre Workshop, Nominated


Ian Smith: 1 nomination

2010–11 My Hands Are Dancing But My Heart Is Cold, Ian Smith, Nominated


David Tennant: 1 nomination

2004–05 Look Back in Anger, Royal Lyceum Theatre, Won


Jimmy Yuill

2009–10 Testament Of Cresseid, Edinburgh International Festival, Nominated



Matthew Zajac: 1 nomination

2008–09 The Tailor of Inverness, Dogstar Theatre Company, Won

Right: Matthew Zajac as his own father in The Tailor of Inverness by Dogstar Theatre






CATS on Twitter












2010 party


2011 party


2012 party


2013 party


By category


2012–2013 shortlist


2011–12 shortlist


2010–11 shortlist


2009–10 shortlist


2008–09 shorlist


2007–08 shorlist


2006–07 shorlist


2005–06 shorlist


2004–05 shorlist


2003–04 shorlist


Company A-F


Company G-Q


Company R-Z


Male performance


Female performance






Music and sound




By category


2012–13 winners


2011–12 winners


2010–11 winners


2009–10 winners


2008–09 winners


2007–08 winners


2006–07 winners


2005–06 winners


2004–05 winners


2003–04 winners


2002–03 winners




Male performance


Female performance






Music and sound








2013 press


2012 press


2011 press


2010 press


2009 press


2008 press


9 June 2013


5 June 2013


9 May 2013


4 June 2012


23 May 2012


10 May 2012


12 June 2011


8 June 2011


12 May 2011


13 June 2010


9 June 2010


13 May 2010


31 March 2010