Press release 10 June 2018

Timely production of anti-fascist play is big winner at 2018 CATS


Rhinoceros scoops four awards including Best Production.

Ionesco’s play has powerful resonances with the current global rise of authoritarian populism and fascism.

Edinburgh International Festival wins six awards for co-productions.

Royal Lyceum named winner in five categories.

Best Female Performance Award goes to Jessica Hardwick (Knives in Hens at Perth Theatre).

Best New Play Award goes to Peter Arnott for his version of Compton Mackenzie’s The Monarch of The Glen.

The awards were presented at Perth Theatre by Blythe Duff.

A NEW version of a classic play, which responded to the rise of fascism and Nazism in Europe, has topped the 2018 Critics’ Awards for Theatre in Scotland.

The Edinburgh International Festival, Royal Lyceum Theatre, DOT Theatre, Istanbul international co-production Rhinoceros, won four CATS including the supreme award, Best Production. The production also won the awards for Best Director (Murat Daltaban), Best Male Performance (Robert Jack) and Best Music & Sound (Oğuz Kaplangi).

A timely production staged against the backdrop of the current rising tide of authoritarian nationalism across the globe, Rhinoceros was directed by Turkish director Murat Daltaban, who recently announced that he and his family are relocating from Istanbul to live in Edinburgh.

Announcing the Best Director Award, Mark Brown of the Sunday Herald and The Daily Telegraph said: “The nomination of Murat Daltaban for his production of Ionesco’s Rhinoceros has a particular significance. The play is a powerful warning about the dangers of conformity, of a mass succumbing to a social miasma that robs us of our culture, our freedom and, ultimately, our humanity.

“The times in which we live can feel like the 1930s with the film running slightly slower. That is particularly true of Murat’s homeland Turkey, where freedom of thought and expression, not least the freedoms of theatremakers, are currently under serious threat.”

The Edinburgh International Festival was also recognized in two further award categories (Best Design and Best Technical Presentation) for Flight, its commission from Vox Motus and Beacon Arts Centre. The Royal Lyceum, meanwhile, also triumphed in the Best Ensemble category for its production of The Belle's Stratagem.

The Best Female Performance Award went to Jessica Hardwick for Perth Theatre’s production of David Harrower’s Scottish classic Knives in Hens. The Best New Play Award was won by Peter Arnott for his new version of Compton Mackenzie’s The Monarch of the Glen for Pitlochry Festival Theatre. The Best New Production for Children and Young People award went to Andy Cannon and Red Bridge Arts for Space Ape.

“Fear, isolationism and irrational kinds of ‘group-think’ are increasing forces in our world, and we’re delighted that Scottish theatre - and many of our winning shows - continue to tackle these issues with such a thrilling mixture of wit, seriousness, and theatrical flair,” says Joyce McMillan, CATS co-convenor.

“From our most awarded production Rhinoceros, through Perth Theatre’s brilliant version of Knives In Hens, to a new form of theatre designed to bring the world’s refugee crisis within touching distance in Vox Motus’s Flight, and Peter Arnott’s richly comic yet revealing 21st century take on all the issues of land, class·and identity raised in Compton Mackenzie’s The Monarch Of The Glen, these plays speak to the world we live in with real urgency, but also a strong sense of passion, poetry, and fun.”

“Theatre is all about opening new perspectives on the world we live in, in ways that can be playful, tragic or just plain thrilling; and this year, Scottish theatre carried out that job brilliantly, in what have not always been easy times, for many of Scotland’s theatre companies.”

“Investment in Scottish theatre is vital for its future,” said CATS co-convenor, Mark Fisher. “We are delighted to be here in Perth Theatre celebrating the reopening of this historic building following its major refurbishment, which will ensure it continues to be a beacon for artistic endeavour for generations to come.”

The Awards were presented by Blythe Duff..

For full list of winners and citations see Notes for Editors.

The 2018 CATS were generously supported by: STV (Best Female Performance), Equity (Best Ensemble), Young Scot (Best Show For Children And Young People), Scottish Drama Training Network (Best Design), and BECTU (Best Technical), and also by the Mackintosh Foundation, BBC Scotland Radio Drama and The List.

The 2018 CATS will be presented on Sunday 10 June. For further details visit:



Notes for Editors

180 productions were eligible for the 2017 CATS, with 90 eligible for the New Play Award.

The CATS judging panel for 2018 comprised Mary Brennan (The Herald), Irene Brown (, Mark Brown (Sunday Herald·and The·Daily Telegraph), Anna Burnside (Daily Record) Paul F Cockburn (BroadwayBaby), Neil Cooper·(The Herald), Michael Cox (Across the Arts), Thom Dibdin (The Stage·and·, Mark Fisher (The Guardian), Joyce McMillan (The Scotsman), David Pollock (The Independent), Allan Radcliffe (The Times)·and Joy Watters (Across the Arts).

Full list of winners


Lesley Booth, 0779 941 4474 /






CATS on Twitter












2018 shortlist


2017 shortlist


2016 shortlist


2015 shortlist


2014 shortlist


2013 shortlist


2012 shortlist


2011 shortlist


2010 shortlist


2009 shorlist


2008 shorlist


2007 shorlist


2006 shorlist


2005 shorlist


2004 shorlist


Company A-F


Company G-Q


Company R-Z


Male performance


Female performance






Music and sound




2018 winners


2017 winners


2016 winners


2015 winners


2014 winners


2013 winners


2012 winners


2011 winners


2010 winners


2009 winners


2008 winners


2007 winners


2006 winners


2005 winners


2004 winners


2003 winners


CATS Whiskers




Male performance


Female performance






Music and sound




2016 party


2015 party


2013 party


2012 party


2011 party


2010 party


2018 press


2017 press


2016 press


2015 press


2014 press


2013 press


2012 press


2011 press


2010 press


2009 press


2008 press


10 June 2018


10 May 2018


11 June 2017


5 June 2017


18 May 2017


12 June 2016


16 May 2016


14 June 2015


3 June 2015


14 May 2015


4 June 2014


8 May 2014


9 June 2013


5 June 2013


9 May 2013


4 June 2012


23 May 2012


10 May 2012


12 June 2011


8 June 2011


12 May 2011


13 June 2010


9 June 2010


13 May 2010


31 March 2010