Press release 12 June 2016

The waiting is over: Godot scoops Best Production at 2016 CATS



Citz and Royal Lyceum share top honours

Waiting for Godot scoops Best Production and Best Ensemble awards

This Restless House picks up three CATS: Best Director, Best Female Performance and Best New Play

Lanark wins Best Male Performance, Best Design and Best Technical Presentation

Muriel Romanes is recognised with a CATS Whiskers

Awards presented by Daniela Nardini and Sanjeev Kohli

The top honours were shared by Edinburgh’s Royal Lyceum Theatre and Glasgow’s Citizens Theatre at the 2016 Critics’ Awards for Theatre in Scotland, the winners of which were announced at a glittering ceremony today, 12 June 2016.



“One of the triumphs of the Scottish theatre calendar.”

Waiting for Godot – winner of Best Production and Best Ensemble awards

The supreme award, Best Production, in the 2016 CATS went to the Royal Lyceum’s production of Beckett’s Waiting for Godot with the outstanding cast – Brian Cox, Bill Paterson, John Bett and Benny Young – scooping the Best Ensemble award.

“Mark Thomson’s lucid, precisely choreographed production got under the skin of a modern classic, ensuring it was not just a star vehicle for two very well known actors, but a full-blooded ensemble performance,” says CATS co-convenor Mark Fisher. “It was one of the triumphs of the Royal Lyceum’s 50th-anniversary season and of the whole Scottish theatre calendar.”

“The success of Beckett’s perfectly poised drama depends on every element of the production working in harmony, and each of the characters – Vladimir, Estragon, their visitors Pozzo and Lucky, and even the little boy who appears to tell them that Mr Godot will not come today – supporting all the others. The cast in Mark Thomson’s production achieved this balance perfectly, and offered a masterclass in magnificent acting,” adds CATS co-convenor Joyce McMillan.

Meanwhile, Glasgow’s Citizens Theatre picked up no fewer than six awards which were shared equally between two outstanding shows: This Restless House and Lanark: A Life in Three Acts.



“An unforgettable piece of theatre.”

This Restless House – winner of three CATS

Zinnie Harris won the Best New Play award for her reworking of The Oresteia – “an unforgettable piece of theatre, powered by an astounding script and electrifying performances” (Amy Taylor, The Public Reviews/TV Bomb); Dominic Hill won his fifth CATS Best Director award recognising how he pulled all the elements of the show together into a triumphant whole; and Pauline Knowles picked up her first Best Female Performance award, sponsored by STV, for “a remarkable performance which ran the gamut of human, and particularly female, experience, and in which she embodied both Everywoman and the haughtiest of aristocrats” (Mark Brown, Sunday Herald/Telegraph). Knowles’ award was collected by Keith Fleming as she is currently in Shanghai performing in The Garden – a sound Festival commission from John and Zinnie Harris.



“A mighty staging of Alasdair Gray's epic novel.”

Lanark: A Life in Three Acts – winner of three CATS

Lanark: A Life in Three Acts won the Best Design award for Laura Hopkins, Nigel Edwards and Simon Wainwright, who between them made the seemingly impossible possible in bringing Gray’s dystopian vision to life; and the Best Technical Presentation award, sponsored by BECTU, for “an extraordinary blend of live action, lighting and sound, animation and projection” (Allan Radcliffe, The Times). Meanwhile, Sandy Grierson, who “proved once again how his powerful and charismatic presence can hold a stage” (Neil Cooper, The Herald), picked up his second Best Male Performance award, sponsored by the Scottish Drama Training Network, following Fergus Lamont in 2007.

The Best Production for Children and Young People award, sponsored by Young Scot, was won by Uncanny Valley, a Borderline Theatre co-production with the Gaiety Theatre, commissioned by Edinburgh International Science Festival working in partnership with Imaginate. “Drummond’s interaction with young audiences encourages them to explore, and voice, their own ideas about our relationship with technology and ongoing advances in artificial intelligence,” says Mary Brennan of The Herald. “Issue-based theatre is rarely as witty, thought-provoking or as open to audience reactions as this piece for children and young people.”

The Best Music and Sound award, sponsored by Guitar Guitar, was won by the National Theatre of Scotland’s Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour, bringing to 30 the NTS tally of CATS wins.

The 2016 CATS Whiskers was awarded to Muriel Romanes, who recently stepped down as long-term artistic director of Stellar Quines, for her vision and determination which have been a tremendous force in Scottish theatre-making as a whole. Romanes is currently working in Canada and the award was collected on her behalf by leading Scottish actor Maureen Beattie.

The 2016 Awards were presented by acclaimed actor Daniela Nardini, who will make a welcome return to the stage in Jumpy at the Lyceum later this year, and leading comedian, writer and actor Sanjeev Kohli who wowed audiences in Still Game Live last year.

This year the CATS welcomed two new award sponsors. BECTU (Best Technical Presentation) and the Scottish Drama Training Network (Best Male Performance). They joined STV (Best Female Performance), Equity (Best Ensemble), Guitar Guitar (Best Music and Sound) and Young Scot (Best Production for Children and Young People) as award sponsors and the three CATS general supporters: The List, The Mackintosh Foundation and BBC Scotland Radio Drama.

Full list of winners here.

Further information on the Critics' Awards for Theatre in Scotland visit: and follow on Twitter @catsawards #CATS16



For further information, images, interviews and press tickets for the ceremony contact:

Lesley Booth, 0779 941 4474 /

Notes for Editors

* The CATS judging panel for 2016 was made up of: Mary Brennan (The Herald), Irene Brown (, Mark Brown (The Sunday Herald and the Daily Telegraph), Anna Burnside (Daily Record), Paul F Cockburn (Broadway Baby), Neil Cooper (The Herald), Michael Cox (Across the Arts), Thom Dibdin (The Stage and, Mark Fisher (The Guardian), Joyce McMillan (The Scotsman), David Pollock (The Independent), Allan Radcliffe (The Times), Amy Taylor (The Public Reviews and TVBomb), Gareth K Vile (The List) and Joy Watters (Across the Arts).






CATS on Twitter












2016 shortlist


2015 shortlist


2014 shortlist


2013 shortlist


2012 shortlist


2011 shortlist


2010 shortlist


2009 shorlist


2008 shorlist


2007 shorlist


2006 shorlist


2005 shorlist


2004 shorlist


Company A-F


Company G-Q


Company R-Z


Male performance


Female performance






Music and sound




2016 winners


2015 winners


2014 winners


2013 winners


2012 winners


2011 winners


2010 winners


2009 winners


2008 winners


2007 winners


2006 winners


2005 winners


2004 winners


2003 winners


CATS Whiskers




Male performance


Female performance






Music and sound




2015 party


2013 party


2012 party


2011 party


2010 party


2016 press


2015 press


2014 press


2013 press


2012 press


2011 press


2010 press


2009 press


2008 press


8 June 2016


16 May 2016


14 June 2015


3 June 2015


14 May 2015


4 June 2014


8 May 2014


9 June 2013


5 June 2013


9 May 2013


4 June 2012


23 May 2012


10 May 2012


12 June 2011


8 June 2011


12 May 2011


13 June 2010


9 June 2010


13 May 2010


31 March 2010